Educational Opportunity Programs > Upward Bound Math & Science > Good News
Good News

January 2013 Scholars' Bowl Winners

UBMS Winners in TRiO Annual Scholars' Bowl!

Congratulations to Anastasia Broughton, Asha Collier, Aalaiyah Prioleau, Trevor Prioleau, Devon Shepherd, and Daniel Starkweather on winning the January 2013 Scholars' Bowl competition in Columbia, SC. They will enter the National competition this April.




Robert Seay
Congratulations to Mr. Robert Seay!!

Mr. Robert Seay, a History instructor with the UBMS program,
was named 2011-12 College Summit SC Region Teacher of the Year.




Congratulations to our six UBMS contestants who won the 2012 Scholars' Bowl Tournament in Columbia, SC on January 14, 2012. They were Asha Collier, Daniel Davis, Darius Gibson, Stephanie Middleton, Trevor Prioleau, and Devon Shepherd! They will compete in Atlanta, GA for the National Scholars' Bowl Championship on April 14, 2012.  

Donald Starkweather, Jr.

Cross High School named Donald Starkweather their 2011 High School Valedictorian.

Kacey McHoney

Timberland High School named Kacey McHoney Valedictoian.

Trevor Prioleau

Trevor placed 2nd in the category of Geology & Environmental Sciences at the Lowcountry Science Fair.
He recieved four different awards on April 15, 2010. This is the link to see the awards and what he placed:

Trevor was a semi-finalist in a national event. The title of his project was called "The Relationship between El Niño and La Niña and Storm Development in the Atlantic Basin." This is the link to the event:


Scholars' Bowl Winners 2010

On the back row from left to right is Donald Starkweather, Ashleigh White, Cameron Simmons, and Kalan Kelly. On the middle row is Erica Hawkins and Kamairi Fayall . On the front row is Kacey McHoney and Brianna Milligan.

Back row from left to right:  Donald Starkweather, Ashleigh White, Cameron Simmons, and Kalan Kelly
Middle row:  Erica Hawkins and Kamairi Fayall 
Front row:  Kacey McHoney and Brianna Milligan

The Trident Technical College Upward Bound Math and Science Program competed at the SCCEOPP Scholars’ Bowl January 15-17, 2010. The Scholars’ Bowl is an academic competition for Upward Bound Participants across the state. SCCEOPP stands for South Carolina Council for Educational Opportunity Programs Personnel. The Competition was held at Horry Georgetown Technical College for two days. There were 15 teams from across the state and 8 rounds of competition. Each team was allowed eight team members and three coaches. Our team included three juniors, Kamairi Fayall of Timberland High School, and Cameron Simmons and Donald Starkweather both of Cross High School. The rest of the team was comprised of the following senior students:  Erica Hawkins, Kacey McHoney, and Kalan Kelley of Timberland High School, Ashley White of Berkeley High School and Brianna Milligan of Cross High School. Students were selected based on academic, behavioral and program attendance criteria. Coaches for the team included Dana Malden, Antonio Robinson, and Kenyatta Grimmage.

The competition was fierce. After seven rounds, a tie breaker match was forced between TTC Upward Bound and Horry Georgetown Tech to determine who would advance to the title match, as both entered the semi finals with identical 6-1 records. We avenged our first and only loss of the tournament and proceeded to the final round where we went on to defeat a previously undefeated Midlands Tech Team by the score of 70-20. We ended the tournament with a record of 8-1 and were crowned SCCEOPP Scholars’ Bowl champions 2010. We received a large trophy and recognition throughout the state as well as the region. We will now represent the state of South Carolina Upward Bound Trio Programs at the national competition in Atlanta this upcoming April. We are still awaiting the details with regards to exact date and time but we are diligently preparing to be very competitive on the national stage. We would like to thank the TTC TRIO family for all of your support and we will certainly keep you updated as to future details.

UBMS Celebrates Honor Students
(2009-10, 2nd quarter)

Berkeley High School

Nikashanta Brown
Tevin Brown
Schelmyra Eddy
Sierra Mathis
Catrina Morrison
Ashleigh White
Olivia Williams

Cross High School

Anastashia Broughton
Asha Collier
Jessica Dingle
Phatima Grant
Carl Heyward
Ra'Shawn Howell
Brianna Milligan
Shaunise Nelson
Taniece Patterson
Kiara Ravenell
Cameron Simmons
Louis Spann
Donald Starkweather
Nashayla Whitten

Timberland High School

L'lmari Alston
Chelsey Britton
Karana Brown
Daniel Davis
Essene Fayall
Kamairi Fayall
Emynee Garrett
Erica Hawkins
Asiya Kelly
Keinn King
Kacey McHoney
Stepanie Middleton
James Middleton, Jr.
Alexis Prioleau
Trevor Prioleau
Alphonso Richardson
Janae Smalls




Trident Technical College, Copyright ©2011