Click here to add your name to the Continuing Education mailing list.
General InformationFor general information about licensing requirements and testing, visit the South Carolina Department of Insurance website at http://www.doi.sc.gov/. For more information and to enroll in these courses, just call 803.772.0684.
Section 38-43-105 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, the 40-hour pre-licensing education requirements for producers only, was repealed on June 16, 2008. Bail bondsmen and runners are still required to comply with pre-licensing education requirements as mandated in Section 38-53-85 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.
Because the state examination is very comprehensive and challenging, most people still need to take the 40-hour pre-licensing course to pass the state examination the first time. The goal is to attain a producerís license and begin producing business immediately. The fastest route to accomplish this is to attend the four-day classroom course or take it online.
The South Carolina Department of Insurance has contracted with Prometric to provide the licensing examination. Please contact Prometric directly to register for an exam, pay the exam fee and schedule an appointment: http://www.prometric.com/SouthCarolina/Insurance.htm or call 800.490.6548.